BUSU Gender & Sexual Violence Advisory Committee

Applications open from November 10 to November 26!

To apply

Call for applicants & position description (PDF link)

To apply, please email a copy of your resume and a cover letter to Aayushi Vasava at avasava@brocku.ca by November 26 at 5:00pm.

Mission Statement

The Gender & Sexual Violence Support and Education Office and BUSU Advisory panel will work as a review and advisory group to BUSU and 全球电竞直播 Administration. Our mission is to use intersectional approaches to review current service deliveries and assess, identify and recommend strategies and programming that could be used to improve GSV related programming on and off campus.


This Student lead group will assist the GSVSEC Office in reviewing and reporting of activities and outcomes of the GSVEC team. They will provide feedback on current and future GSV related programming. Additionally, this group will review the applications for the Women’s Safety Grant and provide feedback and suggestions on outcomes.  


The BUSU Gender & Sexual Violence Advisory Committee is created to follow the Ontario Government’s Bill 132, which  obligat es for colleges and university  to involve students  regarding sexual violence  policies . The Act has required colleges and university to have stand-alone sexual violence policies that set out the process that will apply when incidents of sexual violence are reported.  The BUSU  Sexual Violence Advisory Committee  creates a yearly report  on 全球电竞直播 ’s sexual harassment policy and work done by the GSVEC. Additionally, The BUSU Gender & Sexual Violence Advisory Committee serves as a Sexual Violence Prevention Task Force, also mandated by the Ontario Government.

Membership and Term

Committee members will participate in four (4) closed-session meetings per academic year. The committee is comprised of 3 co-chairs- One representing BUSU, the other appointment decided on by the committee to represent the open study body. There will be a representative from HRE Gender & Sexual Violence Support and Education Office, and other key stakeholders as identified by the group (i.e residence life, ABSS, International student ambassador).

Applications for the committee take place each September. Call for application will be found on the HRE website and various other media outlets as required. Members may serve up to two consecutive terms. If special circumstances warrant members play be allowed to add an additional third term to their service. General committee members must be a current Brock student in order to partake in the committee membership.

2020/21 Committee Members


  • Emily Bagshaw
  • Tatiana Giannidis
  • Ben Johnson


  • Hayley Adame
  • Sharifa Sadika Ahmed
  • Alex Azzopardi
  • Kailene Jackson
  • Julia Jarvis
  • Safa Khan
  • Jacqueline Mcgee
  • Eunice Monwe
  • Jasreet Mundi
  • Bhonita Singh
  • Caraline Stanley
  • Aayushi Unmesh Vasava

BUSU Advisory Committee Comment and Feedback

Please leave any questions, comments, or feedback you may have for or about the advisory committee.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.